Travel Tip: Portobello, Edinburgh

Since I’ve been gathering pictures of most places I’ve been to, I thought I’d share information and tips about the places I’ve liked most over time.

This one is going to be about a suburb of Edinburgh, Scotland called “Portobello”. I went there in summer 2015 and I very much enjoyed my time there! I remember finding Edinburgh a bit too busy and crammed with tourists, but Portobello wasn’t like that at all. Regarding Edinburgh I have to admit that we went there in July, one of the most touristic months! I enjoyed the city, still. It’s a very interesting place to go to and there is lots of things to see. Also, being a die-hard Harry Potter fan, I like the connection with J.K.Rowling.

img_3937

Portobello is full of thrift shops (I love browsing their stuff), small cafés and local people. There are many families with young children and pensioners. And of course, there is the beach. We didn’t go into the sea because of the temperatures, but it was nice to sit there and relax (also after busy days in the centre of Edinburgh!). We found out about many good places to eat via Trip Advisor. (I am starting to have a strange passion for this web page, looking up restaurants a lot. I guess, I’ve eaten in bad places a lot during travelling before!)

We went to eat at “The Espy” once because we read that it has the best burgers in town. It wasn’t the best burgers I’ve ever eaten, but they were still good. Also, it was a cosy place to sit.

img_3953

Portobello also has a history of being a well-known beach resort. Even though I haven’t seen anyone diving into the ocean, I am sure there are times when you can do so!

img_3948

We stayed at Ardgarth Guest House, close to the beach and in walking distance to the centre. It was a very nice place but unfortunately is closed now. I’m sure there are other nice B&Bs in the area, though. Buses go to the centre of Edinburgh all the time, and it’s a quick ride.

I really recommend staying there if you go see Edinburgh. If you just stay in the centre, everything is overwhelming, but with staying in Portobello it gets a bit calmer! It’s just a very nice place to stay at (and probably live in, also). Although I don’t think the Dire Straits Song “Portobello Belle” is about this Portobello. 😉

img_3941

img_3950

img_3943

img_3945

14 thoughts on “Travel Tip: Portobello, Edinburgh

  1. Lovely post and fantastic photos! Portobello looks beautiful – I love the rich colour of the boardwalk and all the architecture right by the sea. I really hope to visit the area when I get the chance to travel through Scotland! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks! When doing a tour we have been told where Rowling wrote a few chapters and what school was the inspiration for Hogwarts 🙂 Altough I’ve heard lots of places use that as marketing, so you never know 😀

Leave a Reply

