Snowshoeing in Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park (Finland)

At the beginning of this year, we went for a winter hike in Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park in Finnish Lapland. We went there by car from the Rovaniemi area. Although we started a bit late in the day we still caught some nice hours, seeing the sun go down and even some northern lights!

img_7937

With the car on the way!

Surprisingly, we didn’t see any reindeer next to the road (except for one in captivity in Levi). It’s good that none went on the road, but I would have liked to see them from afar since everyone is talking about how they are everywhere in Lapland!

img_7941

img_8068

At the visitor centre, we hired one pair of snowshoes (we had already brought another one) for 15 Euros (for the whole day). It was a nice place, you can also buy tea or souvenirs there and find out more about the national park.

img_7950

img_7960

At first, we walked on the ‘regular’ snow, which was much harder than walking on the path, like we did later. Uphill was especially tough sometimes!

img_7965

img_7990

img_7996

img_7997

There was a place with many huts that we came to at some point. It seemed very nice, also to stay in them in summer! I don’t think people stay there in winter, it’s way too cold!

img_8001

img_8015

img_7993

Then we came to Orava Ave (‘Squirrel Ave’) where those funny sculptures are placed. Unfortunately, it was too cold to get my fingers out to handle the camera properly, so I was just hoping for the best!

img_8020

img_8025

img_8030

img_8036

img_8046

img_8053

img_8066

Back to the (then closed) hotel and the visitor centre!

img_8072

img_8087

On our way back we went to a viewpoint to take some photos of the aurora. We had read about how to take those pictures with long exposure settings and it really looked beautiful! But my toes were almost freezing off! (I’m glad they didn’t)

It was a great day and I think this National Park is a very beautiful and enjoyable place to visit any time of the year! I’m happy that I got to see it in a wonderful winter!

21 thoughts on “Snowshoeing in Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park (Finland)

  1. Gorgeous photos. Thank You. We have not been there in winter, but in autumn. Then when hiking there man can meet freely roaming reindeers. Of course, I have made posts from Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park.

    Happy new week.

  2. There’s something about Finland that really attracts me and your photos are gorgeous! I really don’t like cold weather though, so I should go at some other time of year!

    Do you snowshoe often? Is it difficult? I’ve cross-country skiied before but am not very coordinated and think snowshoeing might be better for me.

    • Thank you 🙂 It was my first time to snowshoe and it’s pretty simple, just uphill it was hard (when it was a steep hill). Apart from that it’s basically like walking! It was hard as in tough/sporty at times, yes, but not really difficult. I didn’t know how deep the snow actually was until I took one snowshoes off for a second and sank for like half a meter, haha! I go downhill skiing from time to time, but I’m also not good at cross-country skiing, and yes, it’s way harder than snowshoeing! 🙂

  3. Hello! I really love your articles and great pictures! That’s why I have nominated you for the Liebster award. I don’t know if you’re heard of it, all the details are on my last article 🙂

Leave a Reply

